Saturn S Series Sedan SL, SL1, and SL2

Hoping to get some advice on a used 97 SL2 I am looking at.

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2013, 05:59 PM
Default Hoping to get some advice on a used 97 SL2 I am looking at.

Hello,

I am thinking of buying a 97 Saturn SL2 with 145K miles on it. I looked at it today, and it seems to be in very good condition. I have some experience with this model, it would be my third SL2 from that era. I like these cars a lot because they've been very reliable and easy to work on. I got about 260,000 miles out of the last one.

Anyway, all my automotive repair skills are self-taught, so, I am not totally confident in my own judgment. Below is a picture of the oil cap. I am not sure if that's coolant or some sort of other moisture build-up.

I tend to think it's not too much to worry about, since, I believe I've seen the same frothy build up on other cars. Also, the coolant reservoir and dipstick seemed free from contamination.

Two other things to note, the car had its radiator replaced within the last year, and it has been sitting for about three months.

What worries me is that I wonder if the guy selling the car is withholding information. Did the radiator get replaced because it was over heating, and because of that the head gasket is now damaged? I let it idle for a fair amount of time, the temp gauge was normal, and there wasn't any visible exhaust... What do you guys think? For a thousand bucks...

Attached Thumbnails Hoping to get some advice on a used 97 SL2 I am looking at.-img_0986.jpg   Hoping to get some advice on a used 97 SL2 I am looking at.-img_0988.jpg   Hoping to get some advice on a used 97 SL2 I am looking at.-img_0989.jpg  

Last edited by joemarzen; 02-08-2013 at 06:02 PM. Reason: grammer
Old 02-08-2013, 08:11 PM
Banned