General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here...

1999 SL2 Front End Parts

Search this Thread

Old 06-08-2016, 09:00 PM
Banned
Default 1999 SL2 Front End Parts

Hello All: This is my first post so PLEASE forgive any newbie mistakes. I just bought my first saturn 1999 SL2 Automatic. 83,000 miles in beautiful condition. I want to start off with a great baseline as I will be putting around 800 miles a week on this little beauty. New York City roads are destroyed and I want to give myself, all front end, drive line and suspension parts a fighting chance of survival. I am a mechanic by trade and can tackle any project no problem. What I can't tolerate is garbage quality aftermarket parts at any price!! I plan to immediately replace both CV shafts (with ABS), lower control arms, front sway bar bushings, front struts and engine mounts. Can anyone PLEASE recommend quality replacement parts? I like to do a quality job once! I have found that there is no economy in installing economy parts!!!! Who wants to do the same job a second or third time, or even worse, risk your life or the life of a fellow human being, just to save a dollar!!!! Not me!!!! Thank you all in advance for your help. Part by manufacturer PLEASE. I don't care about price. I only care about quality and reliability!!

Old 06-08-2016, 10:47 PM
Super Moderator

I'm an OEM guy for most Saturn parts. AC Delco
Engine Mounts (Tranny mount may help too)
LCA's
CV shafts ( I have never replaced) (if available)
sway bar bushings (if available)

Struts: KYB GR-2 rear = same stiffness as stock, front 20% stiffer than stock. Rear install SUCKS as the upper strut mounts are inside the cabin where it meets the base of the rear window)

Parts Sources

Rockauto.com : If they no longer stock the AC Delco part, you MIGHT find it somewhere esle but don't hold your breath

Partstrain.com: Surprises me, does carry some AC Delco no longer at RockAuto

Partsgeek.com: