Saturn S Series Sedan SL, SL1, and SL2

Loud engine noise

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2022, 09:27 PM
Default Loud engine noise

I am new to owning a Saturn. I had VERY strict objections to EVER owning one. I am the proud owner of many Toyota Tercel 4wd Wagons. I borrowed a friends Saturn and I really liked it..... So I finally caved and bought 2 Saturn's, but the requirement was that it had to be a Wagon, and it had to be a Manual. I was pleasantly surprised and no longer "racist" towards Saturn's. I have a problem though that I can not get any info on.

It started with engine noise. I took the valve cover off to inspect the timing chain (DOHC), all looked well. I figured the noise was a bad lifter, it was not loud at all.

I was pulling a trailer on the freeway and the car died, rolling in gear I heard some loud noises. I turned the radio off, and the engine sounded like it was knocking. Got it towed home and when I got it home, it fired right up. It would not start on the side of the road after it died.

Problem I have is the knocking noise is very intermittent, usually a rod knock follows rhythm, this goes quiet, hits once or twice and is silent for about 3 seconds on idle. Lifters and valves look fine.

The best description I can give of the sound is it sounds like a broken valve in one of the center cylinders that only makes contact with the head "sometimes". But I pulled all 4 spark plugs and the pistons look fine, there is no broken valve.

If this is posted in the wrong spot, I apologize. I really like the car and want to know if anyone had a similar experience like this.

Last edited by WagonLife; 04-20-2022 at 09:38 PM.
Old 04-21-2022, 07:52 AM