Saturn S Series Sedan SL, SL1, and SL2

Clutch burnt up?

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2019, 02:34 AM
Default Clutch burnt up?

living in the Midwest I inevitably got stuck in the snow after doing a sick drift around a corner. While trying to get out I was alternating between clutch and throttle to begin rocking. While doing so I was heating the clutch up significantly (as I could smell after) and it was slipping...BAD. As I was going home to grab another vehicle from the fleet it began hooking more and more. Is there any way when the clutch cools off it’ll return to normal operation or is it toast?

Old 02-02-2019, 07:58 AM

I wouldn't trust it for too long because the heat could have crystallized some of the disc material. If it were mine, I'd go ahead and buy a new one and be ready to replace it as soon as possible. BUT, I'm not a mechanic, just an old hillbilly shade tree.

Old 02-02-2019, 08:59 AM

Once you've smoked the clutch good several things happen that cause it to be the beginning of the end for that clutch.
1. Obviously there's significant wear that occurs when the clutch is overheated. The materials are pushed beyond their limits and there's a breakdown of the material in several ways. The "glue" that holds the friction material together tends to melt at the surface and cools into hard, low friction glaze. Sometimes if you're careful you can wear this glaze off (normal, gentle driving and patience) and restore some of the friction level of the surface, though that makes this only help for a while. The other thing that happens, is that the friction material itself usually develops cracks from the expansion and contraction that results from the extreme heating. This severely reduces the clutch life and makes it more susceptible to a clutch explosion (not the 1/4 mile sparks and fire version but the kind that will still leave you either stranded with no clutch or having to get home with a clutch that won't disengage).