Saturn S Series Sedan SL, SL1, and SL2

A curious A/C situation.

Search this Thread

Old 12-01-2011, 11:28 AM
Default A curious A/C situation.

If anyone is good at solving issues, I have a big one for you. Here's my tale of the curious A/C situation.

I have a 1997 Saturn SL2 with about 98,000 miles on it. I bought the car in August of 2010 with about 70,000 miles on it. I am a delivery driver and therefore pack on quite a bit of milage. The A/C worked fine when I bought the car, no complaints. Sometime around March of this year, the A/C blows out and the radiator fan stops kicking on (found out why later) which scared me. I took it to a shop and not to my surprise, one of the sensors had gone bad. (they tried to convince me the condenser had gone bad, but I didn't have the money.) They replaced the sensor and suddenly the A/C worked! (to their surprise and mine....)

Around June, sometime in the middle of the month, my A/C blows out again. This time, I'm told its the Compressor. I don't have the money for that, so I started saving up. I was told by multiple shops that the condenser was at fault so I agreed.

I save up the necessary amount of money and pay for the part.

Compressor #1: Remanufactured

I drive it for a couple of days and the A/C blows out again. I take it back to the shop (under warranty) and I'm told the expansion valve fried the Compressor. More money spent.

Compressor #2: Remanufactured

I drive up to Tallahassee, where I currently am with nice, cold A/C. In the middle of September, by A/C blows out again. I take it down to Orlando when I can and get the compressor replaced under Warranty.

Compressor #3: Remanufactured

I return to Orlando the 21 of October. When I get on the turnpike to get back to Tallahassee, the High-Pressure Hose blows. I don't know this at the time, so I freak out. My dad takes the car back to the shop and I proceed to Tallahassee.

Compressor #4: Brand New