Saturn L Series Sedans & Wagons L100, L200, L300, LW200, and LW300

L200 Overheating

Search this Thread

Old 01-24-2011, 07:44 PM
Default L200 Overheating

Hey guys and gals, I am a technician at a california shop and we got a 2001 Saturn L200 2.2L in the other day. Vehicle came in overheating. The upper radiator hose was hot to touch up at the engine but not hot towards the radiator. the lower hose where the Thermostat was not hot at all. so I recommended a T-Stat.

Replaced that T-stat and no cure. So I took the T-stat out and Made sure it was opening (It does at 200 degrees) So I left it out and was checking for pump flow. I couldn't really see any volume of coolant being pushed through the system so I suspected a bad water pump.

Replaced the water pump after ordering the special J-tool and still couldnt really see any good flow. So I decided to take the radiator out and make sure it wasn't plugged, ran water through it seemed fine to me but to make double sure I took it and had it flow tested. came back good.

Put the car back together and I still have the same lower radiator hose is cold at 220 degrees and the Upper hose is Hot. So I have a New water pump, New T-stat that I have reconfirmed opes at 200 It is an OE 180 thermostat. I cannot figure out for the life of me what else could be wrong at this point....

ANY IDEAS!?!?!?

Old 01-24-2011, 07:47 PM

Also the heater core hoses are not getting up to temp either.

Old 01-24-2011, 09:36 PM
Banned

No offense to you, but you didn't mount the t-stat backwards did you?

Old 01-24-2011, 11:33 PM

Nah I thought of that too, but it's correct. I even confirmed with alldata pictures. Plus it would'nt fit upside down into the housing.

Old 01-25-2011, 06:04 AM

Here is my problem with your description of the problem.
Over heating means things are hot. Every car I ever had that over heated, water hoses were hot. Nothing is cold.
You described hoses as upper and lower.