Output shaft speed sensor

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2020, 01:18 AM
Default Output shaft speed sensor

I have a 2003 Saturn ion 3 with a 5-speed automatic transmission. I have owned quite a few saturn but I'm new to this car. I have the codes coming up for the output shaft speed sensor I cannot find the sensor cruise control fails to work . Any suggestions or help. Thanks

Old 06-25-2020, 07:10 AM

Apparently they're located inside the transmission under the pan. Here's what I found. This is for an 02 Ion 2 QC, but I THINK it's the same transmission. Have fun with it.
Read all the instructions first...

1) Pop the hood and identify the top cover of the transmission so you know where you’re going. Remember you can only access the innards from the top of the trans, not the bottom. It’s the long rectangular cover on the right side of the engine between the block and the right interior engine bay side. Look for the trans filler cap just under the left side of the battery terminals.

2) Disconnect the positive battery terminal from the battery in the trunk. Back to under the hood, you’ll need to move the whole battery terminal assembly and the frame it’s mounted on. I believe it’s 3-4 annoying bolts. Once it’s loose, pull it up and out of the way. I zip-tied mine to the hood.

3) There’s a thick cable (I think it’s the neg. batt. cable) that runs along the right side of the engine bay and around to the front by the radiator. Undo the 3-4 mounting bolts for this. It’s really in the way when you take the cover off...assuming you don’t want to drain the radiator and remove the hoses over the trans cover.

4) Look back up at 3, if you want, at this point you could remove the large and small hoses running over the trans cover. They are a pain to work around, but it can be done. I choose not to remove them and deal with a coolant drain/fill. It’s up to you.