New Member Area Are you new?? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride...

2003 Saturn Vue

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2018, 08:19 AM
Default 2003 Saturn Vue

My 2003 Saturn Vue has a very strange sound coming from the front left driver wheel. I have to be careful in the morning when accelerating because the sound is really loud. I hear it when I turn to the left when the vehicle is still cold. Once the vehicle has warmed up, then the sound seems to go away or be less and it only affects the vehicle's performance in the morning. The CV axles have been replaced, front bearings have been replaced and I have new tires and alignment checked. Any ideas?

Old 12-07-2018, 09:46 AM
Super Moderator

How long ago were the bearings done? Has it done this since right after bearing replacement?

Did you just put 2 new half axles in it, each a complete side w hub, bearing , and CV?

I'm not a suspension expert, but it literally sounds like the grease inside the sealed wheel bearing is insufficient (not enough) or it is contaminated such that it is not flowing properly until the friction of the parts heat it up.

If I'm correct, the bearing is already damaged and will continue to be damaged further each time you drive it cold.

Old 12-07-2018, 01:15 PM
Default 2003 Saturn Vue