New Member Area Are you new?? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride...

New Saturn Vue Owner from D.C.

Search this Thread

Old 10-21-2012, 05:49 PM
Default New Saturn Vue Owner from D.C.

Hello all, I've just recently become the owner of a 2003 VTI AWD Saturn Vue and as the car has already been to the shop for the AWD gearbox system (warranty work and not out of pocket) I've obviously become curious and started searching the web. That's how I found this forum and decided to join.

In any case, I got the Vue back 3 days ago and since I'm new to the AWD version of the Vue I'm still figuring out what are normal sounds and what are abnormals sounds. As soon as I hear an abnormal sound the car goes back to the dealership for more warranty work. They already hate seeing my car in their garage bay and likely don't want to see it again but I have no problem with them working on it.

The reason I took it in is because the drivetrain fully failed. What I mean by that is that the engine would rev up and then suddenly the car would jerk forward. Yes it was low on fluid but the VTI transmission had all sorts of broken bits in it. Like I said, I bought the car with a 12 month warranty on the transmission and drivetrain so I have no problems with taking it into Pohanka dealership over and over and over and over again until they get it right.

For all I know at the moment they did get it right this time and I just need to know what are normal VTI sounds and which ones are not.

So I hope you'll welcome me aboard as a fellow Saturn owner.

Rob

Old 10-21-2012, 08:30 PM

Rob, I can not answer your question directly due to lack of knowledge I do think you need to do a little bit of research on that transmission AND read your warranty very carefully.
https://www.google.com/search?hl=en&....1.b_JuqYF6uVI

Old 10-21-2012, 09:21 PM

Originally Posted by uncljohn