General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here...

Rough idle, stalling and no cooling fan at operating temperature.

Search this Thread

Old 10-15-2021, 06:23 AM
Default Rough idle, stalling and no cooling fan at operating temperature.

I have a 1994 SL2 and I have had no real issues other than that pesky little black box in the center console that seems to control everything in the cabin of the car. But now I have a rough idle, hard to start, stalling occasionally (but getting worse everyday) and my cooling fan comes on when I start the car. Once I drive it for a mile or so the fan turns off and never comes back on. But the hard starting, idling issues, and stalling continue. Is this all because of the engine coolant sensor? ( The one that is on the car is still the great mistake of Saturn and is definitely plastic.

Old 10-15-2021, 07:39 AM

Sure sounds like the ECTS to me, but I'm not a mechanic. And I'm referring to the one that's on the drivers side of the car and has the squeeze connector. You really need a brass tipped one. Is there a Saturn friendly GM dealership in your location? If so, get one along with the new pigtail from them. Probably be around $50. BUT, the first thing you need to do is have it scanned for codes. You can pick up a cheap scanner at Walmart for about $20. I have one of them and it works great on my Kia Forte and my sons 2013 F-150. Get your codes and either look them up or post them here.

Old 10-15-2021, 09:58 AM
Super Moderator