Saturn S Series Sedan SL, SL1, and SL2

SOHC Idle problems

Search this Thread

Old 12-04-2012, 11:52 PM
Default SOHC Idle problems

Our family has own a 2000 SL1 ever since it was new. As far as idle speed is concerned, the engine seems to have had a mind of its own ever since I started driving it. Occasionally when I throw it into park or neutral, the revs fly up to around 2000 RPM. Seems to only happen after heavy acceleration or freeway driving longer than 25ish minutes.

I thought this might be a problem with our specific car, but when we purchased another SL1 from 2001, I noticed that it does the exact same thing. Same motor, same 4 speed automatic, same everything as far as mechanics go.

I'm no mechanic, being only 19 years old :P but has anyone else had this happen to them? If not, anyone have any solutions?

All input is appreciated!

Old 12-05-2012, 06:29 AM

Sounds like some kind of vacuum leak to me. If not that, then perhaps it's time for a good throttle body cleaning. EGR valve sticking due to carbon build up may be a remote possibility too.

Old 12-05-2012, 08:11 AM

I hate to sound like the repeat of a broken record but with todays auto's being computer controlled and with an on board diagnostic one of the most important features are the error codes flagged when a problem takes place.
It does not necessarily have to flag a check engine light in order to store error code. Some codes are stored just for the hell of it when a problem takes place that some how or another is not serious enough to need a check engine light.