Saturn S Series Sedan SL, SL1, and SL2

Overheating problem - fan not running

Search this Thread

Old 08-23-2011, 10:26 PM
Default Overheating problem - fan not running

I have a 99 SL2. Long story short, the car overheated and i realized the fan wasnt coming on. I changed out the temperature sensor and now the fan comes on when the AC is on but not when its off. As long as i run the AC the car is fine. If it turn it off the temp starts to climb and it will eventually start to boil over. What would allow the fan to work when the AC is on but keep it from coming on when the AC is off?

Old 08-23-2011, 10:28 PM

I'm not sure, because I'm not a mechanic, but maybe a bad relay?

Old 08-23-2011, 11:34 PM

There are two sets of criteria that turns on the fan.
One is that the A/C is on. If the A/C is on the engine control computor will turn the fan on directly.
The second criteria is a measurement of engine heat. the sensor at the end of the head on a 99, the drivers side end is used by the computor to determine engine tempeature to control the settings of the fuel injection,
To create information used to give a temerature gauge reading
and to determine when to turn on the fan because the engine is running hot.
If your temperature gauge is indicating engine temperture changing that is usally enough of a diagnostic to indicate the sensor is doing it, job correctly.
It also is usually an indication that the computor is getting the correct information and decoding it correctly.
If the fan comes on when the A/C is running that is usually and indication that the fan control is working correctly.
Between the two indications the assumption is the fan will turn on when needed to control engine heat.
Obviously there is a lie in there some where and as I am working from memory I have no clue so I will pull out my software Mitchel Saturn Diagnostics and see wht the wiring is. Of course if I was in the garage I would pull out a book. You do have one?
later.

Old 08-23-2011, 11:57 PM