Saturn S Series Sedan SL, SL1, and SL2

'98 SL1 purchase - good deal?

Old 08-19-2011, 09:20 PM
Default '98 SL1 purchase - good deal?

Hey Saturnites... first post here, I have lots of automotive forum experience but none with Saturns (until now).

I am considering the purchase of a '98 SL1, for a tow-behind to my RV and a daily winter driver to/from work. I already have a couple other vehicles so this one is an extra, but would certainly have its uses.

Details (and this is what I'm told, I haven't seen in person yet): 147k miles, new tires and battery, dent in trunk lid, no speakers, A/C doesn't blow too cold, shifter is "off 1 notch" from actual gear as some kind of piece broke inside the linkage. Car allegedly runs and drives fine otherwise.

Price was originally $800 firm, and I have her talked down to $500. I'll have to travel about 90 minutes to see/buy it, so I'm trying to do all the research I can in advance.

While any working car at $500 might seem like a good bargain, it'll cost me $200 to transfer the title/registration + any costs for repairs of items above. I'm willing to try the shifter linkage myself if that's a DIY kind of job... any tips on that or other thoughts/warnings are appreciated!

Old 08-20-2011, 12:33 AM