Saturn S Series Sedan SL, SL1, and SL2

1999 SL intermittent crank but no starting\\\\ and stalling

Search this Thread

Old 01-21-2013, 06:43 AM
Default 1999 SL intermittent crank but no starting\\\\ and stalling

I have a 1999 SL I've been battling with for a couple years now. Here are the symptoms:

1. Sometimes will crank but not start. When I turn key on, I cannot hear fuel pump relay click or fuel pump run for 2 seconds.
2. Sometimes driving or just idling it will cut out, fuel pump shutting off. When it does this, sometimes it will just kick back on and run fine.
3. Every time it does this, the fuel gauge stays at 0 and the 'Low Fuel' light does not come on. With key in 'Run' position at times it will click on and off randomly. There are times I can just let it sit for a few minutes and it works fine, and others it has to sit for hours.
4. It does this in cold, cool, normal, warm, and hot weather, as well as when the car has cold start or been running.

I've checked and replaced fuses, relay, and wiggled wires to no avail.

I've searched and searched forums and either find topics unrelated, or when I do find one that sounds similar, I never see anyone post their solution to the problem.

Any more details needed I'll be glad to answer.

Last edited by mascencerro; 01-21-2013 at 06:50 AM. Reason: fat finger posted before complete
Old 01-21-2013, 10:25 AM

have you ever dropped the fuel tank?

Old 01-21-2013, 12:11 PM

Originally Posted by Octavious
have you ever dropped the fuel tank?
have not. I have checked with test light at the relay and its not getting powered for some reason when its acting up, so I'm not thinking its the fuel pump itself or wiring back to it.

Old 01-22-2013, 07:52 AM