2008 Saturn Aura xr front lower control arms

Search this Thread

Old 07-25-2018, 02:13 AM
Talking 2008 Saturn Aura xr front lower control arms

Waddup good peeps, new here.

So, I have a saturn aura 2008 xr and the front lower control arms are pretty much done. I am still driving with huge risks (not taking freeways). So, I was wondering which would be a good brand for front LCA. I have taken look at detroitaxle, mevotech, moog, acdelco. Moog is kinda expensive tbh for me as i am a student and I dont have enough to afford that. Mevotech price is pretty good. Detroitaxle is the cheaptest in amazon, the whole front kit is going for 139 bucks. Also, My aura is going throug gas like there is no tomorrow. Barely getting 14-15 mpg. Any solutions to that ? Oh and one more thing, my strut is leaking too. Should I replace them ?

Old 07-25-2018, 08:38 AM
Super Moderator

Poor mileage MAY be front 02 sensor, Coolant temp sensor making air/fuel mix too rich (too much fuel in the mixture). These are GUESSES without being able to measure anything on your car.
Where does the needle on the temp gauge read when car is warmed up?

I never buy the cheapest of anything for car parts as usually, you get what you pay for.

Never purchased anything Mevotech so can't weigh in on that one.

Moog and ACDelco are good brands. I stick with ACDelco (OEM) whenever it is not price prohibitive.

I know Moog is expensive for you.

Check all on Amazon. With free shipping, it is often less expensive than RockAuto.
I have supported RockAuto for over a decade, but their shipping prices are getting more ridiculous than before.
It pays to buy multiple parts that weigh alot -- as long as they come from the same warehouse.
--------------
If it is just the bushing that is wasted, see if you can find a bushing only replacement.

Old 07-25-2018, 12:50 PM

@derf