Saturn 3 Door Coupes SC1 and SC2

I'm a Newbie

Search this Thread

Old 12-23-2019, 01:59 PM
Cool I'm a Newbie

Greetings everyone!
I have a '98 SC2 with over 318,000 miles on it and that's not a typo folks. 5 speed manual. Original owner. Thus far, no engine work done on it although the clutch was replaced about 3 years ago. Bought it in Canada when I lived there (26 yrs) and now living in the U.S. A. (Philly area).
I'm normally pretty good at fixing things on my baby but I need some input on this current problem: I can shift 1 thru 4th no problem but it won't go into 5th or reverse both, of which. are on the far right side of the shift tower. It seems that I'm as far to the right as it will go (which now is 3rd and 4th gear instead of the normal 5th and reverse, but I know they're over there somewhere. I pulled the console to have a closer look. Everything seems to be intact (ie; cables and bushings). On one of the old Saturn forms I saw somewhere (can't re-find it now, argh) there was someone who described the same problem. One of the members (labelled as a master member) indicated the following: "The pin on the lower side of the horizontal lever that rides in the sliding collar is worn flat. Remove selector tower and turn pin 90 degrees with a pair of vice grips. Pull the aluminum clip cover off and disassemble and lube. Look for worn bushings on external shift cable ends". I stared at the shift tower hoping the light would come on in my pea brain but I can't decipher that he means. Hopefully someone can get me pointed in the right direction as it bugs the heck out of me when I can't fix it.

Old 12-24-2019, 06:01 AM
Default ** update **

Originally Posted by Palefty
Greetings everyone!