Saturn 3 Door Coupes SC1 and SC2

head gasket

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-2016, 02:35 PM
Banned
Default head gasket

Hello all, im new to the saturn forum and this is my first posting here.

Last year i bought my girlfriend a new car for her birthday and. . . .well, not new but new to her, and better than her old car.

I bought a 1996 SC2 from a friend (first mistake) he has a shared driveway and room for only one car and decided to sell the saturn because it was smaller than the 4dr civic.

Im not going to bore you with all the details from this quagmire but one day she was driving it and called me up crying that the check engine light was on. i popped the hood and checked everything and it was all in order except the coolant was low. I topped it off and after a little while it went down again.

Its not mixing (thank god) I took it to my mechanic to have a dye test done and he couldn't find any leaks but i have white smoke coming from the tail pipe so from what iv read it leaking into the cylinders and burning out the exhaust.

unfortunately i dont have $1500 (best case scenario) to get it fixed. so the guy at the parts store talked me into something by K&W called permanent head gasket & block repair with nanotechnology. im no expert but it looked like it might be a good product, however after i bought it i thoroughly read through the instructions and saw that there was 12 steps and an overnight wait etc, etc and i didnt have time for that bullcrap so i bought something faster from blue devil. A family emergency came up and i ran out of time to do it so i parked it for the winter and am going to give it a shot and i just want to see what the consensus is before i do anything and collect opinions on which product to use or even if i should bother.