Off Topic A place for you car junkies to boldly post off topic...

Brakes, Random Thoughts

Search this Thread

Old 07-02-2010, 09:26 AM
Default Brakes, Random Thoughts

I've used semi-metallic brake shoes and pads for so long I don't remember when I started. They're good, or have been and have no complaints. I wonder if the factory still uses organic or something similar today. I get a kick of terms like factory approved parts and the like. Some of which I would not use if they were given to me on a gold platter.
I have recently used Ceramic brake pads. I've been hearing about them for about 10 years or so, both good and bad. Good, the front wheels don't get dirty from brake dust and if I am racing on closed track they stop well even though you can see the rotors glowing RED from speeds of 200 mph. Of course the last time I tried that in rush hour things got a bit sporty!
The bad, they eat rotors.
However this is the third MOPAR van I've owned recently and they seem to be a bit shy on brakes and HEAVY. I also have my T&C set up to carry 2000# and do regularly. I bought it new and went through the front brakes at 20,000 miles. (Also tearing up a rotor in the process), including having the front wheels turn BLACK from brake dust at least once a week.
I really got tired of looking and cleaning my aluminum 17 inch wheels.
I bought a rotor, threw the old one on my work bench an installed Ceramics.
30,000 miles later the fronts still have about another 5000 on them. A+
They have chewed on the rotor, more than I wanted, less than what I was lead to believe they would. Another +
I do not normally re-surface a rotor unless it is chewed up so bad that the rotor pulls to one side when the brakes are applied or is warped and I can feel it in the brake pedal. So I may have to change that using ceramics.
Cost of a new rotor = $100
Cost of resurfacing the rotor I chewed up in the first place, it was salvageable = $12.00. I can deal with that.