Off Topic A place for you car junkies to boldly post off topic...

95 SC2 now registered as an antique vehicle

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2021, 03:53 PM
Super Moderator
Default 95 SC2 now registered as an antique vehicle

Antique limit is at least 25, car is 26.
If I ever did have to have it smog tested, I couldn't very easily because no one has working tailpipe testers anymore. But it's driven under $5,000 a year anyway so it's always exempt.

Still need to do the engine swap. Toyed with getting the garage floor done, urethane over epoxy, may still but it's freaking expensive.

Old 07-23-2021, 06:34 PM

Register out of state. No smog needed.
I'm a state inspector here in texas. Only big cities have emissions

Old 07-24-2021, 10:06 AM
Super Moderator

Already done. I never drove it enough in PA to not have an emissions exempt sticker anyway.

Now it never gets inspected in any way ever again, I never pay registration renewal fees, and I don't have to pretend I live somewhere I don't.

I watched someone trying to start the 95 dohc in 95. The one that has the vibration. It was rocking like a rocking horse from the corner closest to the steering wheel to the front passenger corner. I just switched out the mounts with a new aftermarket ones that are ****e. Wtf?

I will check and see if the amount is already broken, the back dog bone, but this is ridiculous.
I will also finally just pull off the harmonic balancer although I can feel all of the material is still in it. Maybe I'll take off the timing cover once it is out of the vehicle because if I bend it up I will never find another one in all likelihood.

​​​​​​This way I can have a spare engine for the year 2031 if this can be fixed on the cheap. Just have to find somewhere to hide the engine that the wife won't see.

Good thing they are small and don't smell like Grease oil or gas

Old 07-25-2021, 09:53 AM