New Member Area Are you new?? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride...

New 03 Vue Owner

Search this Thread

Old 10-31-2017, 12:59 PM
Smile New 03 Vue Owner

Good day to everyone out there!

My name is Chris and I love being a member of these forums as they've kept my cars on the road for years. I just picked up an 03 Vue (base model 2.2 I4, 5spd) over the weekend with only 111k miles! Years ago, I owned a 97 SC2 that wound up being the biggest lemon I've ever owned and it took alot for me to get over those problems to buy another Saturn. Hopefully I will have this car for years to come with little to no problems (besides the normal wear and tear). I tend to lurk on these sites quite a bit to learn what I can and give help with issues I've already dealt with. I have basic home mechanic experience with domestics and imports and am looking forward to being a part of your group.

Old 10-31-2017, 03:12 PM

Welcome to the forum, but with a Vue, it seems to me that you're going to be disappointed again. You couldn't GIVE me a Vue and I'm an old man with one car living on a fixed income.

Old 10-31-2017, 10:12 PM
Super Moderator

Old Man
Take a look at my life
I'm a lot like you....
------
Don't mind Rube, he's a grouchy old Tennessee boy w a Florida address.

Vues seem to have more systematic/design type flaws that you can watch out for. That was the first year for the Ecotec 2.2L engine, so you may wish to run through the recalls and TSBs on the nhtsa.gov site so you have an idea of what to look out for.

I own a 97SC2 as my daily driver w 259K on the clcok. Nothing but replacing parts as they wear out, most not designed to even last this long.
With S cars you either got a great one or a dud.

Old 11-01-2017, 06:35 AM

Derfs right, I am. BTW, derf, did you ever get the seat base you were looking for? I haven't been to a salvage yard since I sold all of my old beaters.

Old 11-04-2017, 01:35 PM
Super Moderator