General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here...

Yet another A/C problem

Search this Thread

Old 06-26-2009, 07:46 PM
Default Yet another A/C problem

I'm a good self-taught mechanic but I don't have a repair manual for my gf's 1992 SL2 Saturn. We are going on a long trip soon and the A/C system is not working. Here is whats going on:

-On pressing the AC button, the clutch does not engage but it lights up.
-The following works perfectly:
-All electrical grounds are sound
-All refrigerant lines (hp and lp) are in good condition with no signs of leaks
-The evaporator, condenser, TCV, compressor and reservoir / dryer are in good shape and clean showing no signs of leaks
-I tested the clutch, works just fine.
-I tested the green wire leading from the clutch to the fuse block, right to the relay terminal (#87)
-I tested the horn, cooling fan and A/C relays, all are identical and all test 100%
-I tested the leads on the fuse block and I get +12V to #30 always, +12V to #85 only when the car runs
-I get NO GROUND from terminal #86 when the car is off, running as well as when the A/C button is on.
-I traced terminal #86 from the bottom of the fuse block using a continuity test and determined that #86 connects to an 18 gauge dark blue wire.

I am unsure of where that wire traces to, it seemed like it went to the engine harness but even after testing all the blue wires there, determined that infact they are not my wire.

Anyone know where that blue wire goes so I can continue my testing? I know it grounds out whenever the AC system needs the compressor running but I am unfamiliar with automotive AC systems and I'm not sure if the blue 18 gauge wire goes to a control circuit or directly to the switch. I'm about to go into the dash to check the switch, the indicator light may work but its possible the switch doesn't work or is there another switch to keep the system off in case of low refrigerant?