General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here...

Not sure where to start...thumping noise

Search this Thread

Old 02-24-2012, 05:32 PM
Default Not sure where to start...thumping noise

Got this nice car two days ago...actually yesterday...but when I test drove it on dry pavement, all was good.

Last night I was driving it home in snow and when I would turn right, i can hear and feel clunk clunk clunk from passenger side...nephew also said he felt it under his feet (passenger).

Before I start digging in and checking things, anyone know where I should start?

Usually does it when Im in first gear (5 speed manual) and turning corner...

Thanks for the help =)

Old 02-24-2012, 10:29 PM

Well, in addition to what I said about the motor mounts, you may want to check you lower control arms, ball joints, tie rod ends, struts and cv joints. It could be any one of those or something else entirely. I'm not a mechanic, so don't take my word for it. See what some of the other guys say first.

Old 02-24-2012, 11:23 PM

There are a lot of sources for clunking noises on Front Wheel Drive, East West mounting of engines in high mileage cars.
But with the symptom of;
Turning and clunking
it has generally been on my cars, a CV joint. It might help to get some one give you a second opinion who can also hear and feel it. I usually take care of that by replacing a half shaft with a rebuilt one from a reputable parts house such as NAPA or CarQuest. If you have the tools and the knowledge to do it yourself it is just a dirty miserable job that is doable.
It is not hard.

Old 02-25-2012, 08:48 AM

Sorry for posting this here and there but since I already had people commenting on my first post "never had a saturn before', I thought id put this problem there.