General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here...

Motor Swap

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2012, 09:47 AM
Default Motor Swap

I was wondering if I would be able to swap the heads from a twin cam with my single cam. I was just thinking about it because they use the same trans, so they must use the same bottom half of the motor. Is it possible? If it is, it'll save me from spending $600 for a used twin cam motor.

Old 04-30-2012, 10:51 AM

I've never really thought about it, but it sounds plausible to me. I'm sure the timing belt and tensioner would have to be taken into consideration too. Also timing the valves on the camshafts.

Old 05-01-2012, 03:40 PM

True, but that would be a lot less to change than to buy a whole used motor. I'm definitely gonna have to more research before I actually do it. If you know of anything else that has to be replaced, let me know.

Old 05-01-2012, 08:08 PM

Hey, I'm not a mechanic, so don't take my word for it. I'm sure there's probably more to it than just that. I'm a do it yourself mechanic that ONLY works on my own vehicles. I don't trust other people to work on my stuff. I'm like my father was in that aspect. He taught me how to work on cars and even though he's been dead for 23 years, I am still thankful to him. I've saved a LOT of money over the past 40 years.

Old 05-01-2012, 09:11 PM

Yes, It will work, but the transmissions are not the same internally, they have different gear ratios.

saturnwiki.com for swap questions. Im 98% sure they have a section on that.

Old 05-02-2012, 09:57 AM

Okay, I'll check it out. Thanks

Old 05-03-2012, 08:14 AM