Vue Brakes Shudder at low speed

Old 10-28-2010, 05:58 AM
Default Vue Brakes Shudder at low speed

I've bought a second hand 2004 Vue which was in mint condition about 1.5 years ago.

Recently I've been having an issue when braking at a low speed. For instance, coming up on a red light and as you come to a slow speed (approx 10-15kmh) the brakes shudder loudly. You can even feel it in the brake pedal itself.

I'm no mechanic and I only know some basics about cars but from my knowledge it sounds like the ABS or calipers are not gripping tight enough when going at this speed. At any other speed it is perfectly fine when stopping. There is no noise except when reaching that low speed.

Has anyone else had this issue or something similar.

Old 10-28-2010, 08:57 AM

I know this may sound like not much help but when was the last time you had the brakes replaced?
It sounds as if they should be looked at either by yourself or who ever does this for you.
Front brakes do the major portion of the braking on yours or anyones car and generally wear out first.
This is agravated by the lack of engine braking that may exist with your car, that which causes the car to slow down by itself when you let up on the gas approaching a stop light or other reasons to slow down.
If you do your own work, jack it up and check to see how much pad is left if any and take approriate action.

Old 10-28-2010, 10:09 AM

The brakes I have on right now are practically brand new. Front pads were put on about this time last year and are still in very good shape, I had picked up a new pair to replace them about 2-3 months ago but after looking at them there was no need. The rear shoes were also replaced about a month ago.

Old 10-28-2010, 12:23 PM
Banned

OK - at first blush, it appears the brakes themselves are good (assuming that the rotors were checked for wear, runout and warpage).