Saturn S Series Sedan SL, SL1, and SL2

Saturn SL2 150,000+ miles

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2017, 11:24 AM
Default Saturn SL2 150,000+ miles

My car was running weird rpm real high at stop sign pulled in drive way turned it off when I cranked it rpm still at 3 and climbing. Took it to Autozone and it coded crank position sensor and temp sensor. The next day I drove to my moms to Autozone to get parts on way home it started shaking and sputtering would not go. I had to leave it where it sat. The next day got someone to pull it to my moms, but it cranked right up rims high but settled. Drove it to her house changed temp sensor will not start now. Went ahead and changed the crank position sensor, still no start. Was told to change the ignition coils (I did) new battery, spark plugs and wires. I'm not a mechanic and no way to one. It cranks but won't turn over now. Please help.

Old 06-05-2017, 06:20 AM

Stop listening to the idiots at AZ. They are NOT mechanics. The high rpms sounds more like a vacuum leak to me. I'n NOT a mechanic either, but have kept my own cars running for over 45 years. You MIGHT have a blown intake manifold gasket, which is not uncommon in the 1.9 engines. Start the car and spray some carb cleaner, or brake cleaner around the intake and see if it revs even higher. If so, it's most likely the intake gasket. And read my other posted reply to your other post.

Old 06-05-2017, 07:33 AM

Originally Posted by Rubehayseed
Stop listening to the idiots at AZ. They are NOT mechanics. The high rpms sounds more like a vacuum leak to me. I'n NOT a mechanic either, but have kept my own cars running for over 45 years. You MIGHT have a blown intake manifold gasket, which is not uncommon in the 1.9 engines. Start the car and spray some carb cleaner, or brake cleaner around the intake and see if it revs even higher. If so, it's most likely the intake gasket. And read my other posted reply to your other post.