Saturn S Series Sedan SL, SL1, and SL2

Restraint Module - Circuit Card

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2009, 10:27 AM

My girlfriends 1994 Saturn SL2 crapped out due to a discontinued part - the Restraint System Module - located under the center console. As others have stated, coke (or acidic beverage of your choice) leaked down and into the Module housing, corroding part of the circuit card, shorting out, and melting about a dime sized area. Poor design/location on Saturn''s part, but hey, 14 years ago I wouldn''t have known any better either... [img]smileys/smiley14.gif[/img]

The garage said theres nothing they could do, so me being an engineer, i asked for the module to try and clean it up. Since its obvious there was a short and small fire on card, I am going to wire jumpers to bypass the damage, get a new resistor to replace the one that blew up, and salvage the entire car from the scrap yard - for one silly module...

The short/fire smoked about 5 traces, 2 of which i have identified and can terminate. The other 3, I cant figure out where they need go...

OPTION 1:
Would anyone possibly have access to the engineering PCA/CCA circuit card drawings for this module so i can jump the correct solder joints and restore this module and save the car?

OPTION 2:
If someone has a 94 SL2, it would be a tremendous help if they could (confidently knowing how of course so not to damage their own car!), pull the module from under the center console (real easy - as there are quick connectors securing the wiring), and taking a digital pic of the circuit card - prefereably one that hasnt caught fire before

Asking for a lot but worth a shot...i hate to have to scrap a whole car for this silly thing that im very close to fixing.

THanks guys!!!

Old 01-08-2009, 10:53 AM
Banned

Have you thought about contacting the local u-pull-it yards to see if you could locate a card in their inventory ??

Old 01-08-2009, 10:58 AM