Saturn S Series Sedan SL, SL1, and SL2

'97 SW2 engine rebuild

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2013, 08:26 PM
Default '97 SW2 engine rebuild

Hi, my name is Kris. I am new to the whole forum thing so please bare with me. I have a '97 Saturn SW2 which has the 1.9 I4 DOHC. It is burning oil profusely, and I know that the piston rings are a big problem with that engine. I am mechanically savvy, and know a great deal about cars in general, but have never rebuilt a motor before I was hoping for some insight on this whole project. Anyone out there willing to help?

Old 02-21-2013, 10:37 AM
Super Moderator

moved your post to the S car section

PM Octavious -- maybe he can help you out

Old 02-21-2013, 01:57 PM

Define "willing to help".

I'd first make sure it is burning oil and not loosing it thru a leak. Then I'd make sure the PVC system is working properly. after that, I'd try to unstick the rings unless this is a very high mileage vehicle.

Do you have access to an engine puller (cherry picker) and an engine stand? do you want to try doing this with the engine still in the car? It is possible but it is very difficult.

Old 02-22-2013, 08:37 AM

Hi Kris, Im Chris hahaha. I was in the same position as you, Know quite abit and am good with a wrench but I really havent buillt a motor before mine either, However I had a friend who has done numerous motors helping me - but its pretty straight forward. The hardest part will probably be redoing the head, but I had a shop take care of mine cause I didnt want the headache.

How many qts do you go through before an oil change? Normally id go through 2-2.5 qts every 2000 miles, engine only had 119k on it at the time.

Old 02-23-2013, 06:38 AM