new temp sensor

  #1  
Old 01-13-2009, 12:38 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 10
Default



So i had a temp sensor (cel) on, and replaced it, when i put the new on oni put some teflon tape on it scince it was brass going into alum.I re-connected thebattery,so the light would reset,Got it installed turned car on and put in new coolant. i let it get to temp, and washed the car while it was running. all conections were good, and no light back on.


so i turn it off go inside eat lunch and come back out to run an errand, turn the car on and no light. sweet. back out of the drive way, drive to the stop sign at the end of the street and BANG check engine light on.


WTF man Edited by: Ragged
 
  #2  
Old 01-13-2009, 01:08 PM
Banned
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Riveria of America
Posts: 2,748
Default



OK ... when you got to the end of the street, did your gage show you were up to temp? You had been running at idle when you refilled coolant, right? Check for codes stored in the computer. Make sure your cooling fan is not running all the time ...


edited for spelling


Edited by: OceanArcher
 
  #3  
Old 02-04-2009, 07:38 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 10
Default

well it turns out that the car isnt getting hot enough for the temp sensor. when i took off the old one i noticed that it didnt have much. teflon on it. I wrapped a decent amount of tape on the new one, and was told that i used maybe to much. because i still have the same light and code on.
 
  #4  
Old 02-04-2009, 09:49 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Default

well it sounds like a thermostat if it is not getting hot enough, are you sure that you got the radiator full?
 
  #5  
Old 02-04-2009, 10:20 PM
Banned
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Riveria of America
Posts: 2,748
Default



First, unless you wrapped the sensor tip itself, you did not put too much teflon tape on the threads.


Second, what is the code number stored in the computer ??
 
  #6  
Old 02-04-2009, 10:28 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 10
Default



i know i didnt wrap the sensor in tape. i just dont want to keep taking it in and out of the head, cause im affraid one or the other is gonna get meesed up.


i flushed cooling system when i replaced the sensor. and let it overflow and get up to operating temp and it ran for a good 20min outside in my driveway. hell i figured that not going anywhere the car would get warm enough. the light only came back on after i started driving it.


thank god for dent resistant panels. ive kicked it a few times


code is a p0128


 
  #7  
Old 02-05-2009, 07:40 AM
Banned
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Riveria of America
Posts: 2,748
Default



Well, I am glad you listed the error code.


P0128 = defective coolant thermostat


I would replace the thermostat at the first opportunity.
 
  #8  
Old 02-05-2009, 01:48 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 10
Default



thanks. is it possible that the thermostat is stuck open?


 
  #9  
Old 02-05-2009, 02:32 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Default






Yes it is, I have a dodge ram and it wouldn''t heat[img]smileys/smiley11.gif[/img] up and I found the thermostat had come apart.
 
  #10  
Old 02-05-2009, 02:47 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 10
Default

ha thats just what i need is teally floating around in the cooling system, slicing hoses and other crap
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: new temp sensor


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.