Trans Swap

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-2023, 09:02 AM
Default Trans Swap

I have a 2004 Ion with a auto trans that I have made into a circle dirt track car. Its a good car and the 2.2 ecotec is a strong motor, but......I would like to remove the auto trans and put in a 5 speed....Has anybody done this before or heard of anybody doing this. I know Ill have to figure out the neutral safety switch but I know nothing other than that, for example will I need to fab mounts or brackets or can I use stock mounts. Will I need to change the subframe to a manual subframe. Any input or direction would be greatly appreciated.

Scott

Old 08-08-2023, 07:54 PM

I have no experience swapping an auto for a manual transmission, but have had my manual transmission out of my 2004 Ion to change the clutch. I left the engine in place and lowered the transmission with the subframe to get it out. I can't say for certain, but would suspect that the subframe is the same for both type transmissions. There are two mounts on the subframe, the forward mount (one large bolt) and the aft mount (three bolts up through the aft crossmember part of the subframe). There is also a mount on the left inner fender well secured with three bolts. You can view a YouTube video of a guy removing an engine/manual transmission that shows the mounts (sort of, the video is not very high quality) at the link below.