P0455 with occasional fuel smell

Search this Thread

Old 03-01-2019, 09:02 AM
Default P0455 with occasional fuel smell

Hi everyone, newbie here. Not a newbie to fixing cars though.

My mother has a 2003 Ion 1. It's been pretty reliable so far, just needing some small things over the years, and she has about 120k on it. About 6 months ago the Check Engine light came on and the car smelled like it was leaking gas, back by the left rear side. After convincing her that the car was not going to explode (she really was concerned of that) I had her bring it over to my place for a look. My code reader showed P0455. I Googled it and read that the most common culprits were the gas cap, fuel filler neck, and purge valve, so I replaced all of them. That seemed to fix it, but after a month or so it happened again. I cleared the code and again the light stayed off for another month or so. Now her car is due for an inspection and the light came on again. I just cleared it again last night.

While searching this forum today, I came across a thread from a couple years ago that it could be the fuel lines / metal evap lines that are rusted and leaking. I'm in Buffalo, so that is definitely a possibility, but... if that was the case wouldn't you smell gas all of the time? The only time when you can smell gas is right after the CEL comes on. And it is a very strong smell.

Maybe I searched wrong or something, but I couldn't seem to find anything really helpful here, so I am wondering if anyone else has experienced this issue and what they did to fix it, besides the gas cap, filler neck, or purge valve. Any help would be appreciated, I really don't feel like crawling under this thing on a wild goose chase when it's in the 20's outside.

Thanks

Old 03-02-2019, 09:52 AM