ION 2006 winter tires and rims ????

Search this Thread

Old 09-07-2010, 07:24 PM
Default ION 2006 winter tires and rims ????

Hi All,

yeah I'm a newbie... bought a Saturn ION 2006.

I'm currently trying to shop for rims for it as it came with 16" mags.
205 55 R16 is what is one there right now and is recommended in the owner's manual, which I did read and downloaded a pdf version for search convenience.

Anyone on here as a similar ION and what kind of rims do you have on it for winter ?

Winter tires are legally necessary here... I wouldn't drive without them in our winter anyway but it's been illegal to do otherwise for a few years now.

I have a hard time finding 16" rims with 4x100 bolt pattern for my ION 2006 to use for winter tires. Not giving up tho 2 local places I still didn't go and shop at. I have been told by 2 places that 16" isn't a valid size for my car... (go figure it came with Saturn mag that size and that is mentioned in teh manual...) anyway if I should use 15" for winter I would think there would be a mention for it in the owner's manual to start with as a possible option for tires on that model.

So what do you use on yours ???

Tires are easy to find... just wondering about the rims. I might have to ring up a GM dealer and ask... but that will definately be pricier but if I have no choice I will.

Old 09-08-2010, 11:02 AM

195/60X15 are about perfect for winters tires.................and if a shop has no idea what size tires and wheels came on a car, I'd find a new tire shop.

Old 09-08-2010, 06:37 PM

fined a set of steel wheels for your winter tires

Old 09-08-2010, 07:01 PM

Originally Posted by RjION
195/60X15 are about perfect for winters tires.................and if a shop has no idea what size tires and wheels came on a car, I'd find a new tire shop.
That's my intent I'm staying away from those...

Currently I have 4 seasons on there which are 205 55 R16 on Saturn Mags.