Saturn  Forum - Saturn Enthusiasts Forums

Saturn Forum - Saturn Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.saturnforum.com/forum/)
-   Saturn Ion (https://www.saturnforum.com/forum/saturn-ion-22/)
-   -   ION 2005 will not start (https://www.saturnforum.com/forum/saturn-ion-22/ion-2005-will-not-start-9165/)

dorato 01-04-2014 04:40 PM

ION 2005 will not start

1 Attachment(s)
Hi I am a newbie and I am having an issue with my ION. The problem started when the starter went bad. I replaced the starter and drove the car 3 days with no problem. I went to get in it and it would not start. The starter would not even turn over. I took the starter back out and had it test which it pass the test. I checked all fuses and test any relay that was in the start circuit. I pulled F11 out and place my meter to see if I had +12VDC across the fuse which I did. I then pulled out relay 31 and place the meter across the coil of the relay and turn the key on and I did not have any voltage. I then went to the ground side of the relay and to a +12VDC source to check if I had ground. Even with the key off it showed voltage, but if I put the relay in the socket and check for ground on the relay I did not have it even when I turned the key on. I changed the ignition switch and did the pass code reset. The lock icon light on the dash would flash for 10 min as said in the instruction. I follow the instruction to the T to the end. When I turn on the key the standard lights on the dash comes on then go off even the lock icon. the only light that stays on is the check engine light. I am suspecting the PNP switch is bad but I am a bit lost after looking for the ground on the relay. I read were the pass code code could be an issue. I don't want to purchase a new PNP switch to find out it was the pass code issue. Any suggestion on this problem would be helpful. I also took the battery out and had Auto Zone test the battery. They said the battery was good and it had the right CCA. I attach a drawing on some test