Saturn 3 Door Coupes SC1 and SC2

Starting issues??? need help?

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-2008, 01:22 PM

Hey guys this is my first time here and I hope I can explain my questions clearly. I guess we will see.

Problem:
2001 Saturn 3dr
I parked the car and ran into a store to get whatever and come back to a car that would not start?? The key would turn on and the lights and everything worked fine but the car wouldn’t turn over at all?? Well I walked home to get my truck and trailer to pick the car up by the time I got back to my car I hit the auto start just to see if it would start and wouldn’t you believe it, It did start so I had a friend just drive it home! Well once II got home I turned to car off and tried starting it again with nothing??? Now I’m really confused! Well I let it sit over the weekend and tried it again and nothing so I loaded it on the trailer and drove it to my shop! Once I pull it in the shop (pushing) I tried to start it again and it started right up. Maybe even 3 or 4 times!!!! But on the last try nothing again! What do you guys think I should look at first????

Do you think it is a bad ground or something???

ANY HELP WOULD BE GREAT! Thanks

Brian
98tjls@gmail.com

Old 07-08-2008, 03:24 PM

if you turn the key and nothing happens. then it sounds like a bad starter. very common on the s series.

Old 07-08-2008, 03:30 PM

Originally Posted by IVI4ssacre
if you turn the key and nothing happens. then it sounds like a bad starter. very common on the s series.

It will work a couple times and then nothing? This only happens sporadically. Do you think it’s the starter???

Old 07-08-2008, 06:34 PM

if you turn the key and it doesn''t crank. hit the starter with a hammer. the starter is underneath the intake manifold. i usually take my pry bar and put it through the intake runners so it;s ontop of the starter. then it the pry bar a few times with a hammer as someone is turning the key.if it starts then it''s the starter.