Gas gauge not working right - Saturn Forum - Saturn Enthusiasts Forums


Saturn 3 Door Coupes SC1 and SC2

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 08-11-2013, 10:42 AM
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Moore Oklahoma
Posts: 72
Default Gas gauge not working right

Been having to jump start my sc2 if it sat for more then about 2 days. Went out today to drive it only to find out I had no gas as far so I thought put a gallon of gas in it took it to the gas station just to find out my gas gauge was not working. After I filled it the rest of the way up had to jump it again. Thinking it just did not charge enough. Went to the store came out and the same thing. While driving to the parts store to get a battery started noticing the gas gauge would work sometimes. Put new battery in it and the gas gauge started working right again. I guess when the battery goes real bad the gauges are the first thing to stop working right even though the car ran just fine.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-11-2013, 01:22 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Riveria of America
Posts: 2,748
Default

Saturn gauges are very sensitive to improper voltages, same goes for the instrument cluster lighting. Flickering of the lights or jumping of the gauges is a solid wake up call to check the electrical system for problems ....
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-11-2013, 02:42 PM
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Moore Oklahoma
Posts: 72
Default

Thank you for letting me know that I will defiantly keep that in mind. This car has been riddled with problems since I got it but I think I have just about got all the bugs worked out. Today was the first real successful shake down cruise I have had with it which is to say that nothing went wrong. So I think I am starting to see the light at the end of the tunnel on this project. Next up will be to see about turbo charging it
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-13-2013, 07:19 PM
RjION's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Arizona
Posts: 2,026
Default

You have an old car that's riddled with problems, and spending money on turbo seems like a good idea to you. Ok then..................tell me how that turns out.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-13-2013, 08:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Moore Oklahoma
Posts: 72
Default

I just built the motor 2 months ago after the car sat for 6 months. I am just having a few little problems with it but I kinda expected that given the fact the last owner of it was not real mechanicly inclined. And his idea of when to check the oil was when the oil light came on. I probably will wait till the spring to put the turbo on it so I will have the time to get the rest of the bugs out of it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-18-2013, 07:37 AM
uncljohn's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Peoria AZ
Posts: 1,912
Default

It sounds to me like it would be a good time to go through things and clean electricalconnections along with unplugging plugs and using some electical plug grease on the contacts and such and putting them back together.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-18-2013, 08:27 AM
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Moore Oklahoma
Posts: 72
Default

I never thought about greeseing the connections that is a good idea it seems to be running fine exept on start up and then sometimes it acts like it is flooded but other then that it run good. I am thinking might try injector cleaner in it I have always used Lucas in the past. But been hearing about sea foam. What is your option on that product.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-18-2013, 02:12 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Riveria of America
Posts: 2,748
Default

Pull the connector on the ECTS, and measure the resistance of the sensor with your ohmmeter. Should be about 360 ohms .....
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-18-2013, 02:55 PM
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Moore Oklahoma
Posts: 72
Default

With engine hot or cold or does it mater
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-18-2013, 03:03 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Riveria of America
Posts: 2,748
Default

Preferably cold -- less chances of burning your pinkeys .... LOL
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gas gauge tooter1 Saturn Ion 6 08-10-2015 11:09 PM
Temp gauge not working... diff between ECTS & CTS? subavairpine General Tech Help 1 07-08-2013 10:37 AM
2002 Saturn SL2 Gas Gauge Sticks 1/4 a tank Matty561 General Tech Help 2 08-03-2011 09:20 AM
Gauge Cluster Lights Not Working Kasper_B Saturn S Series Sedan 3 01-05-2009 12:35 PM
Gas Gauge ButterToast Saturn S Series Sedan 1 09-18-2007 09:41 AM


Tags
08, 09, aura, fuel, gas, gauge, l300, outlook, puttle, saturn, started, working

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:06 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.