Saturn 3 Door Coupes SC1 and SC2

2002 Sc2 Left front side making whew whew sound

Search this Thread

Old 11-08-2012, 12:56 PM
Default 2002 Sc2 Left front side making whew whew sound

It only happens sometimes. Nothing on the right hand side. Sounds like a whistle. When I tap on brakes it stops. Need front brake job? Or heavens forbid, something more serious.

Old 11-08-2012, 02:39 PM

Any way you could post a sound clip? If not, it may be a sticking brake caliper. I'd suggest pulling the wheel off and taking a look at the pads and rotor. If your caliper is sticking, one pad will be thinner than the other.

Old 11-08-2012, 04:58 PM

Thank. Good to hear from you again. I will do that. Going out of town for a few days. Will post when I get back.

Old 11-09-2012, 07:14 AM

My internet was out of service for a week. I'm no mechanic, so don't just go on my word that it's brake related. If it is though, you really don't need to put it off too long. Brakes can overheat and cause a fire if something locks up. And you sure don't want that to happen.

Old 11-09-2012, 07:46 AM

Chocolate,
There is part of the design of your brakes that has a squeaky thingy that rubs on the rotor if the brake pad gets to thin from wear. It is a signal that your breaks are almost ready to be replaced. As it is a squeaky thingy rather than some kind of visual it is a method to tell the owner or driver to have the brakes checked for wear.

Some times they work well other times they don't, they are not high tech. That may be what you are hearing. it sounds like it to me. But the point is something needs to be looked at before wear gets too great to repair easily. That also reads as cheaply.

Or as Ruby says, it might be a caliper hanging up. But in either case at the moment it ain't serious because you just started hearing it. Don't wait too long, things like that can get serious before you know it when it is ignored.