Off Topic A place for you car junkies to boldly post off topic...

What is your take on driving and cars?

Old 07-15-2015, 11:38 PM
Default What is your take on driving and cars?

So, I took the Redline out earlier for a cruise. Just to appreciate it a little bit more. Made me realize where I started in the "car scene".

I was probably 18 when I started learning to do things myself. Had a friend that got me into the whole modifying thing. I was bored anyway since the hockey rink shut down.

At the time, I just had Topanga. Not knowing crap besides changing my oil, a tire, and putting gas in it.
I learned a bit more about motors, and how they worked.
That progressed into making it look nicer. So I went to new headlights, after market bulbs, and new tail lights.
She started looking better. Then that proceeded to learning to wash her better, full detail, etc.
Then came a few more little things like a new radio, speakers, shift ****, boots.

Leading up from all this, the more I went on cruises with people around town, more I read online, more work I did on my own car, I realized that it became more of a therapy.

Yes, I get annoyed, and want to blow em up at time, but at the end of the day, its my safe haven, my escape.

I know that no matter how I feel, when I get behind the wheel, ill erase all my thoughts, and just cruise. Its a wonderful feeling.

So that leads to my question for you guys, whats your story? Do you like just cruising? Do you like doing your own work?

Old 07-16-2015, 12:29 AM
Super Moderator

When I was in grad school, and very stressed out, I would take my 92SL2 out onto the county highways, of which there were many, and just drive, taking every curve at as high a speed as I could without braking. That car would walk sideways rather than squeal the stock tires. If I got in trouble, I just throttled my way out of it.

I would wander aimlessly until I came upon a stretch of road I knew well. Very well.