Off Topic A place for you car junkies to boldly post off topic...

Lawn mower reassembly--spring winding

Search this Thread

Old 08-13-2015, 12:26 AM
Super Moderator
Default Lawn mower reassembly--spring winding

Had to disassemble my 20 yr old Craftsman lawn mower to replace the magneto (starting issues) and to replace the pull cord, which was sufficiently worn that it slipped out of the eyelet near the top of the handle and got chomped to bits along w the handle.

Considered just tying a new piece on to what was left, but figured since I have no knowledge of serious knot tying, I'd just replace the entire cord.

Couldn't find a "service manual" so I figured, what the hell, how hard can this be. I've never taken a lawn mower apart before or worked on one.

During dis-assembly, I inadvertently let the coil spring (that retracts the pull cord back) uncoil uncontrollably. The configuration is such that one end of the spring attaches to the housing, and the other to the spool on which the pull cord is wrapped.

My problem is that I do not know how much tension should be wound into this spring to make the starting pull bearable and ensure that the pull cord retracts properly.

Also, do I coil it up on the spool and then attach to the housing or vice versa. Option 1 was difficult at best and that was with little tension on the spring. There must be a specialty tool for this step......

All advice welcome...I need to get the mower running to cut my lawn by Sunday.....

Oh and when I went to start it, the pull cord came out and stayed out, and somehow the brake did not release properly so all I got was metal on metal.....

Any mower-savvy folks out there?

Old 08-13-2015, 02:07 AM

I wanna say when I did mine, I put full tension on the coil spring. It was a pain, and I was mad when I did it, so don't really remember. Took a few tries to get it right, and snapping 3 pull strings.

Everything I did was trial and error.

Old 08-13-2015, 03:03 AM
Super Moderator