Off Topic A place for you car junkies to boldly post off topic...

Greta Van Fleet

Search this Thread

Old 11-13-2021, 09:33 PM
Super Moderator
Default Greta Van Fleet

For the elder statesmen among us...
Listen all the way through.
His voice grows on you.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=6vjLrC...ature=youtu.be

Old 11-14-2021, 07:55 AM

I've been listening to these guys for a few years, derf. Where have you been? Touted as the next Led Zeppelin!! My son put me on to them. The wife can't stand them! LOL

Old 11-14-2021, 11:38 AM
Super Moderator

I've been listening since their EP came out.
I was waiting to see how they were going to develop... They have their own sound, although if you are led Zeppelin aficionado, it is undeniable that the lead guitarist tends to use the same minor third chord relations as Jimmy Page did. In reality there are only so many chord progressions that truly drive rock and roll at least back in the day.

Grunge broke out of that and made it clear there are no limitations.

But I digress.

Have her listen to the latest album of wbich this was probably the best song. Make her listen to the whole album. A lot of people object to the singer's high grating vocal attack, but if you listen to the albums in order, he does it less and less and is learning to tailor his voice expression and volume to each song.

I have been listening to these guys mostly uninterrupted for the last 4 months as they have become my go-to band when I do my technical writing. Rage against the machine is another. So is the who. Can't figure that one out. The song LaGrange by ZZ top has taken on a special place in my heart. I've always liked it but now when I listen on headphones I really hear the rimshot patterns and how Billy gibbons expresses the lyrics at the beginning.

But again I digress

Heyl I could digress for days, but unfortunately the rest of my life requires attention. Maybe some other week.