New Member Area Are you new?? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride...

SC2 ͏O͏i͏l Pressure Loss

Search this Thread

Old 06-12-2018, 11:33 PM
Default SC2 ͏O͏i͏l Pressure Loss

Hi,
I’m new to the thread. I have a 1998 SC2 that I ra e in 24 hours of Lemons. My first engine lasted about 3 laps before ͏o͏i͏l pressure started to drop and then before I could get back to the paddock the engine had a tapping sound. When I shut it off it wouldn’t restart and I found the crank position sensor to be bad, I replace it and it started back up but had a tapping sound. I replaced the 3ngin3 with an 80K mile junkyard engine with 185+ compressions and it did the exact same thing on the track but this time made 7 laps. Neither engine overheated, confirmed with infrared thermometer immediately on head temp of 210 after pitting. Any idea on what is causing an oil pressure drop to 15 to 20 psi followed by loss of power after working the engine around peak torque range for 15 minutes and driving a CPS failure and internal tapping noise?

Thanks,

Dave

Old 06-13-2018, 01:05 AM
Super Moderator

1) What weight oil are you using?
2) Is the oil light on the dash coming on -- meaning is that how you are determining the oil pressure drop? Or are you determining it another way?
3) Assuming you start with the engine full at 4 qts of oil, what is the reading on the dipstick when it craps out?

I suspect the CPS failure is heat-driven. You are essentially melting the coils inside it.

Old 06-13-2018, 05:08 PM

I’m using Pennzoil high mileage 10W 30, oil light never came on, I’m reading ͏o͏i͏l pressure from a mechanical ͏o͏i͏l pressure gage I installed, engine oil was still on full after failure (both engines) with no water in the oil or oil in the water. Also, compressions are still good on the failed engines and plugs all have a slightly brown tint to them...as they should look if it’s running right.