General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here...

No fire from 2 injectors???

Search this Thread

Old 09-16-2008, 09:14 AM

Hey,
Im new to the forum as I am also new to owning a saturn. I was given the car because my brother bought a new one and all my cars get crap gas mileage. Anyway,. I have an issue seemingly with the injectors. It seems to only be running on cylinders 3 and 4. I had the ecm reprogrammed, reflashed and then replaced with a a reman one. It didn''t change the symtom. I was wondering if anyone had ever heard of anything like this?

The car has good compression in all cylinders 160 plus.

Im not sure it how or where to go from here. I had some mechanic friends of mine look at it and the reason we replaced/reflashed the comp. in because injector pulse from cylinder 1 and 2 seemed to be not occuring.

Any ideas or insights would be greatly appreciated.

Old 09-16-2008, 11:54 AM

have you checked for spark on those cylinders

Old 09-16-2008, 02:37 PM

absolutely did check spark. When I pop the boot upward on 1 and 2 I can hear the spark jumping the gap. When I pull it on 3 or 4 the car wants to die.

Not sure where to go from here. looked at the wiring and no chafing to speak of. . . grounds look good.

Coil pack and sensor are also swapped with a friends extra one.

Fuel injectors are new. Fuel psi is normal.

thanks for your reply.

Old 09-16-2008, 03:52 PM
Banned

Check the gap on cylinders 1 & 2. Possible fouled/shorted plug(s). Pulling ANY plug wire should cause stumble/miss. If no change, obviously that cylinder is not helping out. Possible injector problem, but unusual to lose two at the same time ....

Old 09-16-2008, 05:18 PM

^^well if its 2 at the same time that i would assume then its 1 of the coil packs

Old 09-16-2008, 07:59 PM

Ok so heres how messed up it gets.