General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here...

Interference engine?

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2013, 07:54 AM
Default Interference engine?

2007 Saturn Vue 2.2, started missing (changed plugs), kept missing (was told it was an electrical problem), engine died & won't start (it appears the timing chain is very loose).Is this an interference engine....new engine required?
Also a few days before the above issue started I had a front end accident (their fault) mashing the grill. Could this have caused the chain to loose tension? ie insurance claim possible?

Old 05-27-2013, 08:14 AM

I don't know if it's an interference engine or not, but since you had a front end accident, I'm guessing you've got a loose electrical connection somewhere. Possibly even a shorted wire grounding out somewhere. Start checking your wiring harnesses and see what you find. I'm no mechanic, but I've been tinkering with cars for over 40 years, so I'm going to say that the collision in no way could have caused your timing chain to lose tension.

Old 05-27-2013, 09:15 AM

Thanks Rubehayseed,

That was our next step until it died and we opened the valve cover to check compression and saw the timing chain was loose. Plus no compression in the cylinders. Thought maybe the "fender bender" and rough running could be connected.

Old 05-27-2013, 11:11 AM
Banned

I don't know about the fender bender aspect of your question, but your statement --> "no compression in the cylinders"<-- suggests a major problem with the engine. It may boil down to the question of "overhaul" or "replace"

Old 05-27-2013, 03:24 PM