General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here...

Coolant overflow when engine shut off

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2008, 05:51 PM

Hi everybody!
I''m a newbie here and have searched around this forum without posting until now. I''m really about to give up on this problem. NO ONE can figure it out, including the Saturn dealership.

I have a 2002 Saturn L300. A few weeks back, I had the pipes to the heater core replaced (it was dripping antifreezeinto the passenger floor..yuck!). They also did aflush and replaced thecoolant. And of course they pressure checked it then. After that, I took the car on a 100 miles trip, nothing happened, then did another 100 mile trip, and when I drove into my parking spot, antifreeze came pouring out of the car. Ever since then, every time I drive the car enough to get it really warm, when I park it and turn it off, antifreeze comes pouring out of the overflow tube on the reservoir tank. It only happens when the car is warm, and it only happensonce the car is turned off.