General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here...

Intermittent High Idle, Hard Shift into Reverse & 3rd Gear and Up

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2013, 10:00 AM
Default Intermittent High Idle, Hard Shift into Reverse & 3rd Gear and Up

Good morning,

I am new to the SaturnForum.com website. I have had a few problems with my car previously, and have this site and some others very helpful in figuring out how to fix the issues myself.

I used to have to hold down the gas pedal to start my car, otherwise it would die. I changed out the ECTS and now that part is perfectly fine.

The problem I am now having is an intermittent high idle, and when I put into park, the idle goes up to 2,000 rpm. If I turn the car off, then start back up, idle is fine.

Then, just 2 days ago, I started getting a hard shift into reverse, and intermittent hard shifting into higher gears and when I accelerate.

I just got a new battery yesterday, and I have also switched out the IAC valve.

I have a 2001 Saturn SL2.

Any ideas?

Old 04-25-2013, 10:06 AM

And also, will me driving it this way somehow mess things up even more. I have been driving it 20 miles round trip to work for the past 2 days.

Old 04-25-2013, 07:56 PM

So you have come on this web site and got help fixing your car. Once you get needed information your gone to let your account get shut down because of inactivity. Then when you need help again you get yourself a new username and get right back expecting anyone or everyone to come to your aid.

Sorry I can be of no help.

Old 04-26-2013, 06:51 AM

Ok then. Thank you.

Old 04-26-2013, 07:39 AM

Try cleaning your throttle body. It may help. It could also be a small vacuum leak.

Old 04-26-2013, 07:55 AM

Sweet, I'll add those two to my list of things to check. I am having a friend help me out Saturday so hopefully I can get this figured out!

I appreciate the reply and I'll post what I find out.

Thanks Rubehayseed.