Saturn  Forum - Saturn Enthusiasts Forums

Saturn Forum - Saturn Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.saturnforum.com/forum/)
-   Saturn Vue (https://www.saturnforum.com/forum/saturn-vue-24/)
-   -   Newbie here! 04 Vue with tranny issues and P0842 code (https://www.saturnforum.com/forum/saturn-vue-24/newbie-here-04-vue-tranny-issues-p0842-code-9338/)

blaisa 03-02-2014 01:01 PM

Newbie here! 04 Vue with tranny issues and P0842 code

Hello all, I purchased a 2004 Vue yesterday for $500 which is in excellent condition inside and out with only 106k miles. I knew when I purchased the vehicle that the transmission was not functional. The scanner pull a P0842 code (trans fluid pressure sensor/switch circuit low) from the computer. When the transmission is moved from park or neutral into reverse or drive the rpm's drop about 125 to 150 rpms but the vehicle does not move at all even when revved up. When towing it home yesterday at slow speeds I could hear a metallic clacking sound coming from what I would guess to be the differential area of the transmission or thereabouts.

Now, does this low mileage vehicle still fall into the extended warranty coverage that Saturn did after the class action suit? If not has anyone out there experienced this problem and know of a fix other than replacing the tranny?

Thanks, Andy

RjION 03-02-2014 01:08 PM

Did you tell us what engine and trans it has in it? Maybe I missed it if you did. If you want to know if it's covered by warranty I think the best people to ask are the people that cover the warranty. Call GM customer service with VIN in hand.

If your Vue has the VTI transmission, there is NO fixing it. You can thank FIAT for the pile of CRAP.

blaisa 03-02-2014 01:32 PM

The vehicle has the 2.2 4 cylinder with the vti transmission.

sw2cam 03-02-2014 03:02 PM