Saturn  Forum - Saturn Enthusiasts Forums

Saturn Forum - Saturn Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.saturnforum.com/forum/)
-   Saturn Vue (https://www.saturnforum.com/forum/saturn-vue-24/)
-   -   Introduction/help with ac compressor oil leak! (https://www.saturnforum.com/forum/saturn-vue-24/introduction-help-ac-compressor-oil-leak-8230/)

desertben44 08-05-2013 09:04 PM

Introduction/help with ac compressor oil leak!

1 Attachment(s)
Hey everyone!
I am a aircraft mechanic/diesel mechanic who just bought a Saturn. Its a 2005 saturn vue with 121k miles. Girlfriend loves it! its a 2.2 ecotech with the getrag manual! smooth and efficient, really happy.

Unfortunately, I already have an issue, a week after purchase. The air conditioning works great, however 5 minutes ago I went outside to look at my POS BMW and noticed a big puddle of bright yellow oil under my new love the saturn! Smelled it, definitely not engine oil, I took a picture of it leaking out of my compressor. This oil appeared today, it was NOT there yesterday, I know this because I had a good view of it while sliding out from under the POS BMW all day.

Attachment 1761

I do not have enough equipment or no-how to measure the pressures in the system, but if thats a must have peice of information I could probably get someone to help me out with it!

So what is under that black cover? gasket? O-Rings? Could this be an easy fix? Certainly looks like it but that never seems to be the case!

I saw a few threads about this from google searching, however none of them really had a good answer, so figured I would throw this up in hopes that someone here has already learned all about it!

I look forward to doing some writups on mods and repairs on here as I do on oilburners.net for my ford diesel and some BMW websites.

Rubehayseed 08-06-2013 06:52 AM

I'd simply try tightening those two bolts on that plate first, if it were me. Clean that crap off there and see if it still leaks.

Dtruck1 08-10-2013 07:55 PM