Dash issues on 2003 Vue

Search this Thread

Old 01-18-2018, 11:58 AM
Default Dash issues on 2003 Vue

Had been having weird issues with my dash. Service light coming on and off, had it scanned,no faults. Drove a long trip over the weekend and the service light was going on and off, service engine soon light going on and off simultaneously either the speedometer, tach or gas gauge would drop to 0 until both service lights went out. After arriving home there was a hot electrical smell from under the hood. Checked the fuse box and the window control relay was a bit warm, but not hot. After doing some research I sent my BCM to a company that diagnosis and repairs them. They just called this morning to say there is no problem with it. So, any idea where I go from here?
Thanks

Old 01-19-2018, 07:13 AM

I'd check all of my ground wires. But I'm not a mechanic.

Old 01-20-2018, 07:44 PM
Super Moderator

loose connector on cluster? Loose ground on cluster?

Sure sounds like BCM acting up. I believe it controls all of the items you described.
Maybe there is a bad ground AT the BCM. What I mean is that most of the circuits internal to the BCM already have 12V or 5V or what ever being supplied to them, Instructions from wherever come along to the BCM as a "REQUEST" to do something. For example, if the ECTS detects the coolant getting too hot, the circuit that infers the coolant temp sends a request to the BCM to enable the cooling fan under the hood to keep the engine from overheating.

In my example, a BCM pin is taken to ground internally. The wire attached to the pin outside goes to ground, the fan relay, closes, the circuit is completed, and the fan turns on.

If you have multiple stuff popping on and off like the service and SES lights, and other things disappearing like the fuel gauge reading, it sounds like some circuits are improperly being grounded (the idiot lights, but others str going open circuit.