Saturn S Series Sedan SL, SL1, and SL2

Timing Chain Replacement?

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2008, 12:02 PM

Ok, my original post got deleted for some reason so I'm going to try again....

I just bought a 95 SL2 and I'm new to the world of Saturn. Therefore I'm also new to the world of timing chains because I've always driving Chevy/GMC suv's and trucks and they primarily use serpantine belts.

So my question is how often should I replace my timing chain in order to prevent a major mishap? the car has 156k miles on it right now and I have no earthly idea of if or when it's ever been replaced. Any information you can give me on this would be GREAT!

Old 01-04-2008, 08:20 PM

OK, the serpentine belt is used to drive the accessories, like the AC and the
alternator. The timing chain links the crankshaft to the camshaft so that the
valves open and close when they should. Your previous vehicles all had
timing chains for this and your Saturn has a serpentine belt for running its
accessories.

Old 01-05-2008, 10:11 PM

Thanks for the info, Keith. That didn't really answer my question about when I need to replace the chain but I got my answer from Derf in a different post. The one thing I do notice about these as I poke around on mine is that it seems that if I end up ever needing to replace my chain or belt or even alternator for that matter it's going to be a lot more difficult that it ever was on my trucks and suv's. So far it's treating me pretty well, though. Just small issues but nothing unexpected out of a 95 with 157k miles on it.

Old 01-05-2008, 10:21 PM

Timing chain replacement depends on how well the car was maintained. If the oil was regularly changed and never ran low, the chain should last 200,000+ miles. If maintenence intervals were questionable, I'd replace it now. Whenever I pick up a used Saturn, I replace the timing chain.