Saturn 3 Door Coupes SC1 and SC2

Idler Pully Issues

Old 03-17-2017, 01:02 PM
Default Idler Pully Issues

I'm new to Saturns but fairly mechanical. I race 3 other cars in the 24 Hours of Lemons series, but this SC2 is my daughters. It is a 2001 auto and the idler pully went on it. It actually seemed to have gotten jammed against the body and pulled apart.

I removed it, but the issue is that the bearing the bolt goes through snapped off. The new pully has a center hole that is too large now since part of the bearing is in the old pully and the other part that the bolt threads into is still in the motor.

Any ideas how to remedy this?

Thank you for your suggestions.

Old 03-17-2017, 05:14 PM

Can you post a photo of it? I no longer have a Saturn and don't remember the set up.

Old 03-17-2017, 05:51 PM

I stopped by a GM dealer to see if I could find a bolt, because I rounded off the old one a little bit and what was in the middle. He wasn't sure but thought it was part of the timing chain cover. Here are some pictures of the old and new pullies. You can see the broken piece in the middle, and the other side of it on the cover.

Attached Thumbnails Idler Pully Issues-20170317_184459.jpg   Idler Pully Issues-20170317_184513.jpg  
Old 03-18-2017, 01:49 AM
Super Moderator

1) use an AC Delco 21007457 used on all S cars from 91 -02.
Whatever you have there in the picture has an OD that is too large. Should be OD of 4".
see rockauto.com. The fit is already tight as it is. Might want to change the belt while you're at it

2) If you can figure out the bolt size and thread pitch you could clean the threads in the block out with a tap (of tap and die fame). Depending on how hard the material is, might take a little while. Just work it in both directions until it is smoothly turning in both directions. Do not crossthread--make sure you are cleaning the existing ones.