New Member Area Are you new?? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride...

new kid on the block

Search this Thread

Old 12-16-2014, 08:46 AM
Default new kid on the block

Hello Saturn enthusiasts,

While not new to Forums, Computers or Fandangled Mechanical Devices I do enjoy fixing things. Recently it has been my '93 Saturn SC1. And even more recently, it will be (or soon to be mine) my Saturn '97 Saturn SC2. I enjoy the outdoors and time in the garage turning wrenches. I'm a Professional Computer Jockey that works all three platforms (Windows, Macintosh and Linux). I've certified in Windows, and trained in Macintosh and Linux. So does that make me any better? Ehhh.... I'd say, "I know enough to know that I don't know very much at all."

Old 12-16-2014, 09:20 AM
Super Moderator

hello fellow 97sc2 owner. What does the 97 need?

PLEASE finish configuring your signature like ours . thanks

EDIT: you just did it ---thanks

Last edited by derf; 12-16-2014 at 09:44 AM.
Old 12-16-2014, 09:40 AM

Originally Posted by derf
hello fellow 97sc2 owner. What does the 97 need?.....
The '97 will need to have the engine completely rebuilt. It is currently at about 173k miles, and with no sign that it every had the Timing chain replaced. It runs, but the block is one huge greasy mess. So, I'm going to pull it, and have it professionally bored over AND have the head done too. Maybe I'll have em put in Flat-Faced valves from a '93 head to boost the compression just a tad.

Old 12-16-2014, 09:46 AM
Super Moderator

the timing chains on these cars, with proper oil change maintenance, are known to go over 250K. They are not a weak point of this engine.

What's the true compression on the 97sc2 right now? (operating temp)?

Oops we're getting techhhhy in the new member area.

Please start a new thread in the s coupe section for this car.

Thanks

Old 12-16-2014, 12:15 PM

Hell of a deal Rat....come in signature done and chit. Welcome to the SaturnForum.